TAST Week 1

I’m a little late getting this posted, but here it is: my stitches for the first week of Sharon B’s TAST (Take A Stitch Tuesday) stitch-along. The stitch this week was fly stitch, and I played with it on my current crazy quilt block. The block is my first attempt at building a landscape scene in a crazy quilt block.

I chose to do the leaves of the tree using Fly stitch in several permutations. The dark green leaves are a relatively loosely spaced set of fly stitches, with a final fly stitch going in the opposite direction to create the pointy tip of the leaf.

The mid- and light-green leaves are also made fly stitch, but more tightly spaced and mostly without the inverted stitch to make a point.

After looking at all the different samples of fly stitch worked by the TAST participants, I must say I am so impressed and humbled and inspired… there are some truly spectacular stitchers out there. Every week, Sharon B is going to highlight some of her favourites from the challenge on her blog, Pintangle. It is well worth taking a peek!

4 thoughts on “TAST Week 1

  1. Your fly stitch work is great! I didn’t get started this week due to being out of town for the holidays and cannot wait to get home and start!

    I also want to take a moment to invite you over to my blog to read about a quilt show I am hosting live on my blog beginning Feb 1. The show is called Crazy Quilts Are Quilts Too. The show is designed to bring awareness to all of us crazy quilters and the work we do! There are a host of fantastic prizes to be won! Hope you will come check out the information and hopefully participate!

    http://www.pigtalesandquilts.com

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m brand new to crazy quilting, so I have a total of 2 and a half blocks done to date – definitely no finished objects to enter in your competition. I did visit your blog, and I’ll have to keep going back to see what is new, and what other people enter in your competition. I see you’ve written a book on crazy quilting – do tell me more!

      Andi

      Like

Leave a comment