Autumn

Well, another pumpkin season has come and gone with all that it brings with it: last-minute homemade costumes, pumpkin carving parties with the neighbours’ kids, a street filled with Elsas and Annas and a variety of other characters (some spooky, some not), and more candy than we could possibly eat in a month. Or maybe even three months.

Today, I find myself awake before everyone else with a few moments to spare and an urge to write. Maybe it is just that it is November, otherwise known as National Novel Writing Month, and writing has been on my brain. I’ve been missing this space, this digital memory keeper of mine.

So many other things have taken precedence for the past six months and life has been good. We have had some wonderful firsts over the past few months, including first airplane rides, first Disney visit, first teenager in the house, and more. It’s been a delightful end of spring, summer, and early fall.

But now, now I have the almost daily urge to be back in this place, though I don’t know how long it will last. Perhaps I’ll be here more regularly. Perhaps, having taken on the role of Girl Guide leader and having so many other things happening around here, I’ll just pop in now and again. Time will tell, I suppose, but for now, I’ll just leave you with this thought: Christmas is coming, my friends, as is a new niece or nephew, and crazy amounts of crafting are in full swing.

Leave a Reply

