An owl is the thing

Have you discovered Pinterest yet? If so, you’ve learned what I know — that Pinterest can be a bit of a problem.

Pinterest can be downright dangerous, in fact.

Pinterest is just so full of good ideas, you see, and it is so darned easy to pin something to your craft board with plans to make it later. Before you know it, you have nine thousand things just begging to be made.

Luckily, we like to craft around here, and just before Christmas I managed to knock a few items off my list — which leaves me with nine thousand and seven things to try, since inevitably when I go to move items from my craft board to my Mischief Managed board, I find at least a couple of new things to add to my list of things I’d like to try.

Quite a while ago, I saw these lovely little Christmas ornaments:

owlspiration

Aren’t they adorable? I just knew I had to make some of these little owls for my tree.

I never did manage to make any for my tree, but I did make something similar. Friends of ours had a baby girl just before Christmas and Mama-to-be kindly posted photos of the nursery on Facebook before their baby girl arrived… and it was full of owls. Most striking was the handmade quilt that featured owls sitting on the branches of a tree.

Right away, I knew what I had to do.  I had to make that sweet baby-to-be some owls for her wall.

A papa owl…

DSC_0034

…a mama owl…

DSC_0036

…and baby makes three…

DSC_0028 (2)

Three sweet little owls on a branch, inspired by Pinterest, and oh so much fun to sew. They turned out so nicely, I almost didn’t want to give them away.

It’s okay though, because soon there will be another similar hoop being made. One of my best friends is expecting in February and the moment she saw this hoop, her eyes lit up and she turned to me with it clutched close to her heart.

It turns out she has chosen a woodland theme for her nursery, and a hoop full of owls would be the most perfect thing.

DSC_0029

I might have to make her one of these, too. And maybe one of these.  And maybe one of these.

I told you Pinterest was dangerous.

3 thoughts on “An owl is the thing

Leave a Reply

