A kitcheny kind of morning

This morning turned into a kitchen kind of morning. Breakfast was nothing fancy – the kids each helped themselves to something and munched away in silence for a bit before wandering off in pursuit of other things. I munched too, then fed the birds, unloaded the dishwasher, swept the floor, and eyeballed the 2 giant zucchini sitting on the counter just begging to be used.

Zucchini bread, I kept thinking. I’ve been wanting to make it for days. But I didn’t want to make it alone. I wanted company.

The best way to get the kids to do something for me is to imply that it requires the use of the computer. Computers are highly motivating tools, you see, especially when you are using them for real work and not just playing games.

“Can you find me a really good recipe for zucchini bread?” was the request, and they happily set off to do so.

Five minutes later, they were back. The recipe? Canadian Living’s Zucchini Loaf.

Of course, I still wanted company, so I announced I needed help fetching ingredients and running one of the zucchini through the mandolin to shred it, and before I could blink, I had two eager little helpers and a batter rapidly coming together.

An hour after we started, I had 4 little loaves of zucchini bread cooling on the counter.

Five seconds after that, I had three-and-a-half loaves, and let me tell you, that zucchini loaf still hot from the oven and spread with a generous dollop of butter just can’t be beat!

One of the intact loaves was sent over to the neighbour who pet-sat the birds for us for a few days last week, so now we are down to two full loaves and a half.

Luckily, I have another zucchini.

Leave a Reply

