Running out

Thursday, we ran out of bread. As I went to make some toast for breakfast, I realized that the bag of croissants from the bakery down the road was empty. So was the bag that was supposed to be full of baguette. And the bag of raisin bread. We were out of bread.

We were completely out of bread.

How is that possible? How can that be? This house — this bread-loving house — was completely and utterly out of bread?

The horror.

While the kids devoured a quick breakfast, I tossed some yeast into a bit of water  and then stirred in some flour and salt and stuck it in the oven to rise by the heat of the oven light while we went for a walk around the neighbourhood with a dear friend and a whole gaggle of kids. The recipe I used is the master recipe from Bread in Five. I love it. It really does take just 5 minutes to mix up the dough, and you can leave the dough in your refrigerator to have fresh bread every few days for the next week or two.

Of course, that’s if you don’t bake it all up at once like I did. I made half the dough into hamburger buns and the other half into two lovely loaves of bread – one for me, and one for the neighbours. (Don’t you wish you were my neighbour?)

This is fast becoming my all-time favourite bread recipe. It is so simple to make. It lets me have fresh bread on a moment’s notice. It is a forgiving recipe, too, which means you can mess with it all you like and you’ll still get an edible loaf out of it.

Later that afternoon, the whole house smelled yeasty and delicious, the smell of fresh baked bread permeating every nook and cranny.

And I was craving carrot cake. Naturally.

So I made some.

Life sure is delicious on lazy summer days like this one.

One thought on “Running out

Leave a Reply

