What we’re reading

This week, we have embarked on a new adventure. Instead of listening to Mama read or reading to ourselves, we have embarked on a listening project. B is listening to a LibriVox recording of Anne of Green Gables, by Lucy Maude Montgomery, and K and I are listening to Divergent by Veronica Roth thanks to the library’s digital media and audiobook collection.

It is an interesting experience.

The kids are thoroughly enjoying themselves, but it turns out that I am not a comfortable listener. The rhythms are wrong, in my opinion. Anne of Green Gables is being read far too quickly, and Divergent is somewhat lacking in… something… I am not sure what, but it just isn’t quite what I had hoped it would be. Given how rapt the kids are, I rather suspect the fault lies not with the recordings, but with me.

I have always preferred to sink into a good book in silence, letting the words sweep me away to a place of imagination and possibility without outside distractions. I have always felt more comfortable expressing myself on the written page than in person. I do like to talk, and listen, but the written word is something else entirely, and nothing else quite compares. It is almost like I can taste words, their shape, their smell, their emotion… they take form in my mind in a way that spoken words do not.

I love Anne of Green Gables. Truly, I do, and I have since I was a girl of about B’s age. But I am not enjoying the experience of listening to it, though B is loving it. Neither am I enjoying Divergent, despite having it recommended to me by several friends who adore reading YA and raved about Divergent. But K is loving it.

And so, I am dutifully listening away for a time each day, sharing the experience with my children and enjoying the quiet time to get some stitching done or watch the kids sketch what they hear, and I know that soon, Divergent will click for me and I will love it just as much as my friends did — I’ve requested the ebook from the library, you see, and soon I’ll get to read it.

I have a feeling it will all be better then.

One thought on “What we’re reading

Leave a Reply

