Wow. Just… Wow.

Do you recall how proud I was of our girl B when I posted a couple of weeks ago about her decision to forgo all hope of getting birthday gifts in favour of raising money for charity:water? She set what we thought was an ambitious goal, to raise $150, and we were excited to see if she could do it.

And then she surpassed her goal. When she saw that her total donations equaled up to $225, she screamed out loud and started jumping up and down. And then she promptly set another goal: $300. And we were thrilled beyond words at the attitude of gratitude and generosity that we were seeing in our girl.

On the day of her party, she had occasion to scream and yell and jump up and down all over again when she saw that she had surpassed her goal again. We were thrilled beyond measure, at the money raised, at how many people will be helped by charity:water, and at how excited our girl was to be helping change the world.

The day before yesterday, I blogged about it yet again (since apparently I just can’t help myself and keep talking about my amazing kids and how proud they make me for so many reasons) and someone over at charity:water noticed. And tweeted about it. And other people saw it. And took the time to donate to our little girl’s campaign. Check it out for yourself. And all I can say is…

Wow.

Just… Wow.

That one word keeps rolling around in my head every time I look at her campaign page — and I keep looking at it a lot.

I have tears of joy and amazement and pride filling my eyes and spilling over my lashes because of all of you. I do tend to cry easily, but this is so much more than that. I am overwhelmed with gratitude for your generosity – that of our friends and family, and that of complete strangers. You have given our girl a gift that is going to stay with her for the rest of her life: the knowledge that, with a bit of effort, she can change the world for the better. What’s more, you’ve shown her that taking on a challenge like this brings with it a rush of excitement and pride and joy that is unlike any other. No physical gift can match that feeling, and it is a feeling that will stay deep in her heart for the rest of her life.

So I guess there is one more thing to say after all:

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

