Keep calm…

Today’s WEGO health blog challenge is to invent your own “Keep calm and carry on” poster. My all-time favourite is the one created by my sister:

Panic and Wreak Havoc

It makes me smile every time I look at it — the sort of smile that has your mouth turning upwards and your eyes crinkling at the corners and other people asking “What’s so funny?” because you just started smiling out of the blue.

If I were to invent such a poster of my own that relates to living with chronic illness, I’m not sure I could improve upon the original. So much of life is about finding a way to carry on despite the limitations imposed on you by your illness, and finding a way to carry on as gracefully as possible.

For me, knitting helps. It distracts the mind and keeps the hands busy so that I don’t claw through my skin in an effort to relieve the pain and pins and needles that are my constant companion. But, someone else has already invented ‘Keep Calm and Knit On.’ Someone else came up with ‘Keep Calm and Cast On’ too.

More than knitting, laughter is the best medicine. Laughing with friends is even better, especially when it comes on the heels of mischief making of one form or another. I do believe my poster would have to read ‘Laugh Lots and Make Mischief.’

 

Leave a Reply

