I love you more than cake.

In the last post, I gave you pancakes. Since it was Valentine’s day, after the pancakes were eaten and everyone was off to work and school and appointments, I started texting The Man We Call Dad. “I love you more than pancakes” I texted. Followed by “I love you more than popcorn.” I asked him to pick up some ice cream on his way home, and then promptly told him “I love you more than ice cream.”

He forgot the ice cream.

I love him anyway.

It’s a game we play around here, this “I love you more than [fill in the blank].” We’ve played it for many years. I’ve even blogged about it before. I can never win this game. Not anymore. Not since B discovered that she could simply reply: “I love you more than that!”

(And even K’s standard shout of “I love you more than infinity!” still can’t be beat by “I love you more than that!”)

But I think I just might have managed to beat them all this year.

After dinner, we exchanged Valentine’s gifts. The kids got chocolate and books. Is there a better way to say I love you than with the gift of books? I think not. Though I must admit, the dozen roses and gift certificate to Michael’s craft store were pretty darn sweet. And then, to make the evening complete, I brought out dessert.

Don’t ask me for the recipe, because I totally cheated. With a son who spent the week at home due to the flu followed by myself getting sick, and now B catching it, the most I could manage was a box of cake mix and a tub of storebought “homestyle” icing. But did you see what it says? Here, I’ll zoom in:

I love you more than cake.

That’s a lot of love.

(And yes, I did totally steal the idea from a cake I saw on CakeWrecks)

Leave a Reply

