Winter isn’t here

It’s true. Remember how I said winter was coming? And then I meant it? I was wrong. They say it takes a big person to admit when they are wrong. I must be a really, really big person by now, judging by how often I am the opposite of right. Ahem.

The snow that I was so certain would last more than a day went and vanished almost as quickly as it had arrived. Gentle white flakes were replaced by cold, ugly rain, and then by more rain again.

Today, it can’the decide if it is raining or snowing. It snowed for a bit this morning (though not even enough to really call snow), but already the snow has left again, leaving us with morose grey skies, a damp and chilly wind, ugly bare pavement, and grass that should have gone dormant weeks and weeks and weeks ago.

What I’d most like to know is… where is winter?

This is Canada, after all. Ottawa, no less. Halloween costumes are always bought large enough to accommodate a snowsuit underneath, and the snow service contract started November 5th. As in, five days after Halloween, they were ready for us to have a daily helping of 5cm of snow or more.

So where is our snow?

I never would have thought I would say this: I miss snow.

2 thoughts on “Winter isn’t here

Leave a Reply

