Spring is for Socks

I’m loving working with self-striping sock yarn lately. For Christmas, the kids bought me sock yarn in their favourite colours, which made it a gift for both of us. I get the pleasure of knitting a yarn I might not have chosen for myself, and they get socks. Lots and lots of socks. The first green sock knit up quickly, sparking an anticipatory gleam in K’s eyes as he saw the second sock being cast on and he knew it wouldn’t be long now. B was also eager to see the green socks finished as it meant that in short order it would be time to cast on socks for her. Any minute now, really. Mom knits fast, doesn’t she?

And so they waited. And waited. And waited some more.

It was the dreaded Second Sock. The first attempt at the second sock, I stupidly told myself I knew the pattern so well I could only just occasionally glance at it to make sure I was still on track. This worked fine for the leg, and the heel flap, but then for some strange reason, I started picking up gusset stitches without having actually turned the heel. Several rows later I realized my error, and so I ripped it out and started again. The second attempt at the Second Sock was plagued with problems right from the beginning and didn’t even make it as far as the heel before I ripped it back to its humble beginnings as a ball of yarn. Attempt number three was much better, but I stupidly made exactly the same mistake and forgot to turn the heel. Again. Huh? How on earth did I do that? Twice? You would think I’d have learned the first time.

After a few days off from sock knitting, I finally managed to get through the Second Sock without any further mishaps, and they fit K beautifully. He is, as always, pleased as punch with his Mama-made socks, and is wearing them constantly.

Green sock in self-striping yarn

By the next evening, I had two happy children, because of this:

B is dancing all over the house because Mama has started knitting her a new pair of socks. I haven’t told her yet that I cast on with the wrong size needles and the gage is all wrong. Apparently the Curse of the Second Sock has now become the Curse of the First Sock In The Second Pair. Sigh. I’ll try again tomorrow. Right now, I just need chocolate.

2 thoughts on “Spring is for Socks

Leave a Reply

