Gifts From the Heart

This past weekend was my birthday, and it was full of love and laughter and family and dear friends dropping by unexpectedly, which is the very best way for a birthday to be. Since the weather was nice, we feasted on barbequed steak and chicken, and I even tried out a new recipe for mustard roasted potatoes from Smitten Kitchen. And I was lucky enough to be the recipient of some wonderful gifts of handmade goodness.

My sister gifted me with a small handmade book full of weird and wonderful words that we’ve been tossing back and forth by email. Of course she created her own definitions for some, which just adds to the general hilarity and wonderfulness of the book. The book itself was typed the old-fashioned way, on a typewriter with keys that stick and ink that blurs, and the book was bound in fake snakeskin. Bright red fake snakeskin. Because every little book needs a little personality.

But B… B was the queen of creativity. Almost a month ago, she squirelled herself away in the craft room (yes, we’re spoiled, we have an entire room devoted to crafting together). She informed me with all seriousness that I was not allowed in. I duly kept myself away, and she did her thing. She then carefully sealed it up in a plastic bag, wrapped it in tissue paper, put it in a gift bag, then hid it away in her room. When I finally got to unwrap it, I found a multicolour zoo of plasticene animals decorated with dried lentils. Each had its own label, and to top it all off there was a card that said (after a rather complicated little essay involving Dad and family and universes) I love you.

I am having technical difficulties with the computer and it is not recognizing the camera’s memory card, so I am afraid I can’t show you pictures of my plasticene-and-lentil zoo. You’ll just have to trust me when I say it was hilarious and odd and precious all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

